Those were the Best Days of My Life


Poems not only help a child to learn and understand those wonderful sounds in any languages, but it also tell stories. With rhyming words, its added magic for kids to easily grasp the fundamentals and learning for them become a fun.

When a child first starts school it can be an extremely emotional time. Not just for them, but for parents too. And so was it with me. I was participating in the poem recital at my school’s Annual Day celebration. My mother has been preparing me ever since she came to knew, I was one of those special kid who would stand on stage and face a crowd.

She wanted to be that perfect proud mother. I mean, who doesn’t want !? Right. She made sure, her 3rd grade kid, learn poem by heart, memorize hand gestures so that they match with the poem and also emote every emotions at the correct place. Not to forget those movements and “take a pause” act.

I was to recite “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” as a solo participant. At home, I read each line aloud over several times and emphasized different words each time. It was like.. Twinkle Twinkle… “Little Star“; How I wonder…. “What You Are?“; Well, you can surely listen to the audio/video version on “Kids Hut” channel on Youtube. It is perfect, just the way I sang in my own school days.

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

Ohh.. !! I feel so nostalgic. But it was one of those bestest memories that will never fade.

And today, when I sit with my niece/nephew – I realise that there are three key types of poem that appeal to kids the most:  Short Poems, Funny Poems and Rhyming Poems. The most famous being “Rhyming”. “Its all about decorating the poem“, my mum used to say. “If you do not tune the poem in a melody , no body would chant it with you.” Well, aptly said. I had no option then and neither do I now. I still recite poems the same way. They have never changed and I love them that way.

At home, “Johnny, Johnny Yes Papa” was my and dad’s favourite time spent together. My dad, once back from office would enter house singing along the poem with its all time famous melody. You know, what I mean right. Take a sneak peak at the video.

Johnny Johnny Yes Papa

I always used to get a sugar candy after every “ha.. ha.. ha” moment from the poem. [Dad..  I love you loads ! ! ! ]

Its amazing all these years, we may have grown from kids to adults. But the sound of these nursery rhymes bring back time as if it was just yesterday. It fills your heart with emotion and you cannot stop yourself from humming along.

This post is a part of Kids Hut activity at BlogAdda.com.

Author: passimpressionon

An IT Professional, A blogger, A dancer.. A people's person - People around me makes me happy and I love to keep them glad. "You can't upload love.. You can't download time.. You can't google all of life's answers. You must actually live some of your life !!"